Topbar Menu EN

The SDG Fund is operationally closed. This site is alive for knowledge and dissemination purposes. Please visit

April 5, 2016
Dialogue Architecture and Sustainable Development Goals

Tuesday, April 5  at the UN Headquarters in New York (Trusteeship Council Chamber), starting at 6.30 p.m. Attendants with UN pass can go directly to Trusteeship Council Chamber

What is the role of architecture in contemporary society? 2016 Pritzker Laureate Alejandro Aravena, in an open conversation with previous years laureates will discuss what role plays architecture in building cities that are more sustainable and livable. The event will take place Tuesday, April 5  at the UN Headquarters in New York (Trusteeship Council Chamber), starting at 6.30 p.m.

Every year the Pritzker Architecture Prize (the “Nobel of Architecture") honors a living architect or architects whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision, and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture. For the very first time, the award ceremony will take place at the UN headquarters in New York, coinciding with the very special occasion of a new sustainable development Agenda.

The recently outlined Sustainable Development Goals will work to guide development efforts across the world for the next 15 years. Architecture can contribute to this integrated agenda, in which economic inclusion, social development and environmental protection converge in a unique and universal roadmap for global action. The SDG Fund, a multi-agency and multi-donor mechanism established in 2014 by UNDP, on behalf of the UN System, is aligning the efforts of different actors for achieving SDGs.

The Pritzker Architecture Prize and the SDG Fund are bringing several Pritzker laurates to discuss how architects can contribute to sustainable development. This year’s Pritzker Prize Laureate, Alejandro Aravena of Chile, who will participate in this open dialogue, “epitomizes the revival of a more socially engaged architect”. Mr. Aravena, together with other laurates and representatives from the SDG Fund will discuss how sustainable development can inform architecture and vice versa.

Participant Pritzker Laureates include:

  • Alejandro Aravena
  • Glenn Murcutt
  • Renzo Piano
  • Richard Rogers
  • Wang Shu
  • Richard Meier
  • Jean Nouvel
  • Christian de Portzamparc

Cathleen McGuigan, Editor-in-Chief of Architectural Record will moderate the conversation.

For more information: teresa.burelli [at]

The event will be livestreamed via UN TV: